nomadallabout.blogg.se

Format wd elements for mac time machine
Format wd elements for mac time machine












format wd elements for mac time machine
  1. FORMAT WD ELEMENTS FOR MAC TIME MACHINE UPGRADE
  2. FORMAT WD ELEMENTS FOR MAC TIME MACHINE FULL

Since I have messed up and deleted the My Book software on the WD My Book drive and no longer desire to use Smartware, how can I make sure all traces of the WD SMARTware is deleted? One of the posts above said that it is almost impossible to do so.

format wd elements for mac time machine

I want to use the Apple software exclusively for using Time Machine for backup. I read the posts above and feel better about things. While attempting to delete/reinstall everything, I deleted the installation software/firmware/crapware on the WD My Book HDD and my computer. I didn't exactly follow the directions when initially setting up the WD My Book, so I didn't get it set up as it should be. I felt the need to resurrect this old thread because this is exactly my problem today.so I DID do a search first! I purchased a 1T WD My Book for backups. I'm sufficiently confused and welcome the suggestions from the forum! (I saw carbon copy cleaner recommended as best app, does it work with or separate from time machine? also saw that sophos antivirus wiped out time machine backups) I am thinking of starting over, getting a new external hard drive unless there is an easy solution here.ġ) can i delete wd smart ware and just use time machine? (every time i connect the Mybook it prompts for the wd smart ware and time machine doesn't recognize the Mybook unless wd smart ware runs)Ģ) If I wanted to start from scratch, buy a new external hard drive and just begin fresh I would greatly appreciate advice on which hard drive and backup software to use. my time machine says it is using the Mybook for backup, but i want to simply backup all files once and then regularly backup any additional changes or updates

FORMAT WD ELEMENTS FOR MAC TIME MACHINE FULL

the wd smart ware is confusing and i can't really tell if a full backup has occurred. I apologize for my lack of knowledge, but I can't tell if things are really backed up or not. I bought a Mybook that came with WD Smartware software, and have "backed up " my macbook using both this and the time machine

FORMAT WD ELEMENTS FOR MAC TIME MACHINE UPGRADE

I have a Macbook pro with new upgrade to Lion. I am very confused regarding backup process for macs. If this is wrong section, please move to correct area














Format wd elements for mac time machine